I Cameristi della Scala, Italy, World Expo 2010



On the occasion of the World Expo 2010 Shanghai, the City of Milan presents I Cameristi della Scala as part of the rich cultural programme of Italy 16th – 20th June at Shanghai Oriental Art Center, Shanghai Conservatory of Music and the Shanghai Dramatic Arts Centre. The group represents twenty elite musicians of Milan, originating from both Filarmonica della Scala and the Orchestra of Teatro alla Scala. The coveted experiences of I Camerisiti della Scala have influenced their sound, bringing out musical characteristics of timbre and phrasing which are certainly unique in the Italian and international panorama of chamber groups.

Press Reviews
China Tour 2010



Founded in 1982, La Scala Chamber Orchestra is an ensemble with a rich history. Its musicians are selected from Milan’s renowned La Scala Orchestras: the Filarmonica della Scala and the Orchestra of Teatro alla Scala. La Scala Chamber Orchestra has performed in the most prestigious theatres and concert halls of the world and collaborated with internationally known conductors and soloists.

In July 2007 at Piazza del Duomo in Milan, before an audience of more than 10,000 people, La Scala Chamber Orchestra performed the Four Seasons of Antonio Vivaldi and Astor Piazzolla, with Francesco Manara as a soloist. The concert received rave reviews, and was so well received that it was performed again in Paris, at the Opera Theatre in Warsaw, in Spain, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Lithuania, Latvia and in Moscow at the Ciaikovskj hall.

At the annual concert at Piazza del Duomo in 2008, audiences were thrilled by a performance by La Scala Chamber Orchestra of an original composition by composer Carlo Galante, specially dedicated to Milan’s Cathedral. Continuing this great tradition, in 2009 La Scala Chamber Orchestra was excited and honored to present an original composition of the famous composer and cellist Giovanni Sollima.

La Scala Chamber Orchestra’s repertoire includes the most important compositions for chamber orchestras from the 18th century to the present day, with particular attention paid to little-played works by 19th century Italian composers. Many of these pieces are unpublished and are characterized by highly virtuous solo parts which are well suited to display the extraordinary talents of La Scala Chamber Orchestra’s soloists, all principles in the Filarmonica della Scala and well known concert artists on the international scene.

The musicians of La Scala Chamber Orchestra have consistently worked with the greatest conductors of the world who routinely make guest appearances at Teatro alla Scala, such as Riccardo Muti, Carlo Maria Giulini, Giuseppe Sinopoli, Daniel Barenboim.

The activity of La Scala Chamber Orchestra is supported by the Foundation Labus – Pullè.



16th June 2010, 19:30         I  Cameristi  della  Scala & Giovanni Sollima

Brano in prima esecuzione assoluta, dedicato alla città di Shanghai

Concerto in re min.minore per due violini, violoncello e archi
Allegro. Andante. Adagio. Allegro

Concerto no.7 in sol maggiore per violoncello e orchestra
Allegro. Adagio. Allegro

Violoncelles vibrez! ballata per due violoncelli e archi
Giovanni Sollima, Massimo Polidori violoncelli

Giovanni Sollima, Massimo Polidori violoncelli

We where trees:
Resonance Wood (La Foresta Dei Violini)
The Architect
Leaves Postcards
The dangerous prevalence of imagination
The family tree (Vivaldi)
Giovanni Sollima, Massimo Polidori violoncelli


17th June 2010, 19:30       I  Cameristi  della  Scala

Antonio Vivaldi
Concerto in si minore per quattro violini, violoncello e archi
Allegro. Largo – Larghetto. Allegro

Gioachino Rossini
Sonata a quattro n. 6 in re maggiore La tempesta
Allegro spiritoso. Andante assai. Tempesta (allegro)

Gioachino Rossini
Une larme
, romanza per violoncello e archi
Massimo Polidori violoncello

Carlo Galante
Sono due le porte del sogno
Massimo Polidori, Martina Lopez violoncelli

Nino Rota
Ballabili per il film “Il Gattopardo”

Ottorino Respighi
Antiche arie e danze, suite n°3
Allegro moderato
. Allegro marcato - Andantino mosso. Andante cantabile. Allegro vivo - Vivacissimo

Luis Bacalov
Brano in prima esecuzione assoluta dedicato ai Cameristi della Scala




Press Reviews:

“This allegro Summers end, with his storm its one of the best we have heard from a camera orchestra in a long time… Piazzolla… with a vibrant Manara devoted to this score…in front of the audience of Zaragoza which rewarded him a long applause and obtained two impressive encoures.”

-          Aragón Newspaper, 19 July 2008

“Thousands of enchanted spectators at the Cathedral Dome plaza to listen to the Cameristi della Scala”

-          Corriere della Sera, 9 July 2007

“In Vivaldi’s and Piazzolla’s musical pieces the ensemble of the Cameristi della Scala realized a tremendous musical carpet both for dynamics and musical purpose… Manara has been a refined soloist; impeccable and focused even on the smallest sound nuances… the spectators enjoyed a concert extraordinary to say at least: it couldn’t have been a better way to inaugurate the concerts season of the Theatre”

-          La Cronaca di Cremona, 13 December 2007


Tour 2010:

16th June, 19:30 Shanghai (上海) Oriental Art Center, Concert Hall 上海东方艺术中心

17th June, 19:30 Shanghai (上海)        Conservatory of Music 上海音乐学院

20th June, 19:30 Shanghai (上海) Dramatic Arts Centre 上海话剧艺术中心




For more information, please contact:

Ms. Valentina Cecchi
Wu Promotion Co., Ltd
Tel: +86 10 51650798 ext.32,
Fax: +86 10 84417135

Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


For more information, please visit: